Red Velvet and Box Defeat

Ever since the Pumpkin Pie Incident, I’ve prided myself on making things from scratch. The only things I consider making from a box are non-Thanksgiving stuffing and pancakes/waffles. Chemicals help make cakes tender, moist and shelf stable for decades but not necessarily more delicious. Today I caved. Partially. Repurposing box cake mixes as cookies isn’t new but I figure it’s for a good cause (fundraising bake sale) and I didn’t really want to dye my hands red anyway. So I present Red Velvet Cheesecake Cookies from Two Peas and Their Pod

20121116-235946.jpg

This is a stuffed cookie where the original recipe suggests chilling the dough and fillings for easier handling. If you’re an annoying bugger that likes to ignore directions, just go ahead and stuff, shape and bake away. It’s probably harder and messier but patience has never been a virtue of mine.

Red Velvet Cheesecake Cookies
From Two Peas and Their Pod
Yield ~32 cookies
Cookie
1 box red velvet cake mix (like Duncan Hines)
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
2 large eggs
1/2 cup oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Filling
4 oz cream cheese softened
2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Topping
1 cup white chocolate chips or almond bark

-Preheat oven to 350.
-Sift together cake mix and flour. I don’t usually sift but learn from my mistake. If not, you’ll get lumps like me and spend 30 minutes trying to smush all the dry clumps.

20121117-001142.jpg
-Add egg, vanilla and oil to dry mix. Mix until combined. Wrap tightly in plastic wrap and chill until firm or just continue if you’re like me.
-In a separate bowl, combine cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth.
-Take tablespoon full of cookie dough and wrap around a heaping teaspoonful of cream cheese filling. The Peas suggest freezing pre-formed filling balls for easier wrapping. Again, I like to do things the tough way.
-Place on parchment lined baking sheet at least 2″ apart and bake at 350 for 11-13 minutes or until they begin to crack. Mine took 12 minutes and I baked 6 at a time. No need to flatten, the cookies will do that on their own while baking.

20121117-002104.jpg
-Let cool completely before drizzling melted white chocolate on top.

Tips
-I’m a firm believer in evenly sized cookies so I scooped all the dough first to get an idea of how many I could expect to make and judge how much stuffing to put in.
-The cookies spread quite a bit but only if you put enough filling inside. More filling means more spreading and less means normal sized cookies with unusual height and lumps. These should be nice, even, round and flat if done right.

Leave a Reply

